2018 Barbara Luton Art Contest

Artists interested in entering the library’s 19th Annual Barbara Luton Art Competition can download an entry form here or pick one up from the Information desks at either library. The contest is named in honor of Shaker resident Barbara Luton, a former library director who managed the renovation of Moreland School into the current Main Library.

Entries will be accepted from 3 to 5 pm Friday, March 2 and from Noon to 4 pm Saturday, March 3. A non-refundable entry fee of $30 for up to two pieces of artwork is required at the time of entry.

The awards include a purchase award of up to $1,000 for the Best of Show; $200 for First Place; $100 for Second Place; $50 for Third Place and certificates for honorable mention.  Awards will be presented at the Friends-sponsored gallery opening reception from 2 to 4 pm Sunday, March 25 and the exhibit will be on display through May 4, 2018.

Past winners’ works, including Gary Williams, Horace Reese, Terry Sciko, John Harmon, Johnine Byrne, Jerome White,  David Brichford, Daniel George, Mary Ryan, Amy Lewandowski, Paula Zinsmeister, Judy Takacs, Ted Yu, Michael Prunty, Candace Dangerfield, Elise Newman, and Patricia Schroeder, and Debra Bream.

For more information about the art contest, please call the library at 991-2030.