readplaycreatebanner

  • Storytime Break Activities

    Dear Nestlings and Fledglings,

    Snowball the bunny hopes you will remember her and our storytime songs and rhymes during the holiday break so here they are. She has some suggestions for books you can read together, too.

    Happy Holidays from Ms. Nicki & Snowball!

     

     

    Hello Bunnies
    (to the tune of Frere Jacques)

    Hello Bunnies, hello bunnies
    How are you?
    How are you?
    Happy to be with you,
    Happy to be with you,
    Let’s begin, let’s begin

    Good-bye Bunnies

    Good-bye bunnies, good-bye bunnies,
    See you soon,
    See you soon
    Thanks for being with us,
    Thanks for being with us,
    Come back soon, come back soon

    Bunny Rhyme

    Bunny, bunny, bunny you’re so funny with your twitching nose
    Bunny, bunny, bunny you’re so funny from your head to your toes
    Bunny, bunny, bunny your ears are funny, they’re too big for you
    Bunny, bunny, bunny you’re so funny everyone loves you!

    Books to Share

    Borrow Five Little Bunnies from Bunny Time by Nashville Kids Sound on Hoopla. Just create your account using your email address and library card number.


    ReadPlayCreate Comment Policy:


    We love to hear from you! While most comments are welcome, all comments are moderated before posting. We will not accept comments that:

    • Attack or harass
    • Are solely promotional in nature
    • Use language that is inappropriate for young children.

     

  • The One Day House – New Book Spotlight

    The One Day House by Julia Durango; illustrated by Bianca Diaz. Charlesbridge, Watertown, Massachusetts, 2017. 

    Wilson has a plan for his neighbor Gigi’s tired-looking old house. He wants to paint it orange and yellow like the sun, to fix the windows so she can feel the breeze, and the chimney so she can make a fire. He shares his plans with Gigi, neighbors, and community members. One day, everyone comes together to bring Wilson’s vision to life.

    The sweet, simple story is enhanced by Bianca Diaz’s colorful collage illustrations. Perfect for sharing with younger elementary aged children, this book will hopefully spark conversations about giving back to the community, reaching out to neighbors, and enhancing the lives of others.

     

     

     

     

    ReadPlayCreate Comment Policy:


    We love to hear from you! While most comments are welcome, all comments are moderated before posting. We will not accept comments that:

    • Attack or harass
    • Are solely promotional in nature
    • Use language that is inappropriate for young children.

     

  • We are thankful for…books about Thanksgiving
    Board Books
       
       
     

     

    Picture Books
     
       

     

    Chapter Books
       
       

     

    Non-Fiction
     

     

    If you can’t get to the library, you can check out ebooks from Overdrive and Hoopla anytime – even on holidays!

     

     

    ReadPlayCreate Comment Policy:


    We love to hear from you! While most comments are welcome, all comments are moderated before posting. We will not accept comments that:

    • Attack or harass
    • Are solely promotional in nature
    • Use language that is inappropriate for young children.

     

  • Native American Heritage Month

    November is Native American Heritage Month, also known as American Indian and Alaska Native Heritage Month.

    For thousands of years before the United States ever existed, this land has been home to the indigenous people of North America.  Currently, there are over 500 federally-recognized tribal nations.  It is always a great time to learn about these many people, their widely diverse cultures and traditions, and the unique challenges they face today.

    At Shaker Heights Public Library, we encourage you to learn more by exploring works by Native American authors and illustrators.  The books listed below offer just a sampling. Be sure to visit the library where you can find many more interesting titles to learn about our American heritage

     

    Books for Teens
       

     

    Books for Children and Tweens
       
       
       
       
       

     

     

    Here a few websites for further research:

    National Native American Heritage Month

    Native American Month @ National Congress of American Indians

    Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian

     

     

    ReadPlayCreate Comment Policy:


    We love to hear from you! While most comments are welcome, all comments are moderated before posting. We will not accept comments that:

    • Attack or harass
    • Are solely promotional in nature
    • Use language that is inappropriate for young children.

     

  • A New Look for the Magic Tree House Adventures by Mary Pope Osborne

    Fans of Jack and Annie and their amazing adventures with Morgan le Fay, Time Librarian, and her magic tree house full of books may be interested to know that the series is celebrating its 25th Anniversary with new covers and a new numbering system.  Each of the three distinct series, written by Mary Pope Osbourne, will be numbered separately.

    The Magic Tree House Series, for readers who are just beginning to read chapter books, will still be numbered 1-29.

    The Merlin Mission Series books are more challenging, complicated adventures for the experienced Magic Tree House reader at the third grade level and will be re-numbered 1-27.

    Original Cover Design for the Merlin Missions

    New Cover Design for the Merlin Missions

     

    The Fact Tracker research guides are non-fiction companions to some of the adventures and are not numbered.

    Shaker Library carries the print books, audiobook CDs, and pre-loaded audiobooks from Playaway in our catalog.  Downloadable audiobooks and eBooks are available through our eLibrary.

     

    ReadPlayCreate Comment Policy:


    We love to hear from you! While most comments are welcome, all comments are moderated before posting. We will not accept comments that:

    • Attack or harass
    • Are solely promotional in nature
    • Use language that is inappropriate for young children.