ReadPlayCreate

Storytime Break Activities

Dear Nestlings and Fledglings,

Snowball the bunny hopes you will remember her and our storytime songs and rhymes during the holiday break so here they are. She has some suggestions for books you can read together, too.

Happy Holidays from Ms. Nicki & Snowball!

 

 

Hello Bunnies
(to the tune of Frere Jacques)

Hello Bunnies, hello bunnies
How are you?
How are you?
Happy to be with you,
Happy to be with you,
Let’s begin, let’s begin

Good-bye Bunnies

Good-bye bunnies, good-bye bunnies,
See you soon,
See you soon
Thanks for being with us,
Thanks for being with us,
Come back soon, come back soon

Bunny Rhyme

Bunny, bunny, bunny you’re so funny with your twitching nose
Bunny, bunny, bunny you’re so funny from your head to your toes
Bunny, bunny, bunny your ears are funny, they’re too big for you
Bunny, bunny, bunny you’re so funny everyone loves you!

Books to Share

Borrow Five Little Bunnies from Bunny Time by Nashville Kids Sound on Hoopla. Just create your account using your email address and library card number.


ReadPlayCreate Comment Policy:


We love to hear from you! While most comments are welcome, all comments are moderated before posting. We will not accept comments that:

  • Attack or harass
  • Are solely promotional in nature
  • Use language that is inappropriate for young children.

 

The One Day House – New Book Spotlight

The One Day House by Julia Durango; illustrated by Bianca Diaz. Charlesbridge, Watertown, Massachusetts, 2017. 

Wilson has a plan for his neighbor Gigi’s tired-looking old house. He wants to paint it orange and yellow like the sun, to fix the windows so she can feel the breeze, and the chimney so she can make a fire. He shares his plans with Gigi, neighbors, and community members. One day, everyone comes together to bring Wilson’s vision to life.

The sweet, simple story is enhanced by Bianca Diaz’s colorful collage illustrations. Perfect for sharing with younger elementary aged children, this book will hopefully spark conversations about giving back to the community, reaching out to neighbors, and enhancing the lives of others.

 

 

 

 

ReadPlayCreate Comment Policy:


We love to hear from you! While most comments are welcome, all comments are moderated before posting. We will not accept comments that:

  • Attack or harass
  • Are solely promotional in nature
  • Use language that is inappropriate for young children.

 

We are thankful for…books about Thanksgiving

Board Books
   
   
 

 

Picture Books
 
   

 

Chapter Books
   
   

 

Non-Fiction
 

 

If you can’t get to the library, you can check out ebooks from Overdrive and Hoopla anytime – even on holidays!

 

 

ReadPlayCreate Comment Policy:


We love to hear from you! While most comments are welcome, all comments are moderated before posting. We will not accept comments that:

  • Attack or harass
  • Are solely promotional in nature
  • Use language that is inappropriate for young children.

 

Native American Heritage Month

November is Native American Heritage Month, also known as American Indian and Alaska Native Heritage Month.

For thousands of years before the United States ever existed, this land has been home to the indigenous people of North America.  Currently, there are over 500 federally-recognized tribal nations.  It is always a great time to learn about these many people, their widely diverse cultures and traditions, and the unique challenges they face today.

At Shaker Heights Public Library, we encourage you to learn more by exploring works by Native American authors and illustrators.  The books listed below offer just a sampling. Be sure to visit the library where you can find many more interesting titles to learn about our American heritage

 

Books for Teens
   

 

Books for Children and Tweens
   
   
   
   
   

 

 

Here a few websites for further research:

National Native American Heritage Month

Native American Month @ National Congress of American Indians

Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian

 

 

ReadPlayCreate Comment Policy:


We love to hear from you! While most comments are welcome, all comments are moderated before posting. We will not accept comments that:

  • Attack or harass
  • Are solely promotional in nature
  • Use language that is inappropriate for young children.

 

A New Look for the Magic Tree House Adventures by Mary Pope Osborne

Fans of Jack and Annie and their amazing adventures with Morgan le Fay, Time Librarian, and her magic tree house full of books may be interested to know that the series is celebrating its 25th Anniversary with new covers and a new numbering system.  Each of the three distinct series, written by Mary Pope Osbourne, will be numbered separately.

The Magic Tree House Series, for readers who are just beginning to read chapter books, will still be numbered 1-29.

The Merlin Mission Series books are more challenging, complicated adventures for the experienced Magic Tree House reader at the third grade level and will be re-numbered 1-27.

Original Cover Design for the Merlin Missions

New Cover Design for the Merlin Missions

 

The Fact Tracker research guides are non-fiction companions to some of the adventures and are not numbered.

Shaker Library carries the print books, audiobook CDs, and pre-loaded audiobooks from Playaway in our catalog.  Downloadable audiobooks and eBooks are available through our eLibrary.

 

ReadPlayCreate Comment Policy:


We love to hear from you! While most comments are welcome, all comments are moderated before posting. We will not accept comments that:

  • Attack or harass
  • Are solely promotional in nature
  • Use language that is inappropriate for young children.

 

 

Fallingwater – New Book Spotlight

 Fallingwater: the Building of Frank Lloyd Wright’s Masterpiece by Marc Harshman & Anna Egan Smucker; illustrated by LeUyen Pham. Roaring Book Press, New York, New York, 2017. 

This non-fiction picture book tells the story of famed architect, Frank Lloyd Wright, and the creation of his best-known design; Fallingwater, a distinctive house that extends over a waterfall in Western Pennsylvania. Pham’s watercolor, ink, and gouache illustrations capture the movement of the water, the details of the architectural drawings, and the expressions of people as they design and construct the house. The narrative follows the process from the owner’s initial request to the finished house. The text is simple enough to keep young children engaged, while an author’s note, artist’s note, and bibliography provide further information. A fine example of presenting STEAM concepts to young  children, this book is perfect for preschool through elementary school.

 

ReadPlayCreate Comment Policy:


We love to hear from you! While most comments are welcome, all comments are moderated before posting. We will not accept comments that:

  • Attack or harass
  • Are solely promotional in nature
  • Use language that is inappropriate for young children.

 

Spooktacular Stories for Halloween

Are you ready for some chills and frights? Here is just a small selection of Halloween titles available from your Shaker Library.

 

Non-Fiction
 Picture Books
Chapter Books
Media
   

ReadPlayCreate Comment Policy:


We love to hear from you! While most comments are welcome, all comments are moderated before posting. We will not accept comments that:

  • Attack or harass
  • Are solely promotional in nature
  • Use language that is inappropriate for young children.

 

 

Nature Display

 

Examine the rings in a tree trunk section, touch a rock, or take a look at our beaver stick and wonder at the tooth power involved.

The current display in the Children’s Room at Main Library celebrates nature. Autumn is the perfect time of year to get outside and learn about trees. Stop in and check out a book or explore one of the helpful databases from The Ohio Web Library. What Tree Is It?  helps you identify trees, step by step, by leaf, fruit, or name. What’s That Snake? and What’s the Point? are also offered.

Ohio Web Library is freely available to all Ohio residents. You can find a link to the site on Shaker Library’s web site under Research.

In 2017 Ranger Rick magazine, published by the National Wildlife Federation,  celebrated 50 years of inspiring children and families to care about wildlife and the outdoors.

The library carries the print magazine or you can view issues online through Flipster, part of Shaker’s eLibrary.

In the words of e.e. cummings, the world is “mud-luscious” and “puddle-wonderful!”

Explore, learn, enjoy.

ReadPlayCreate Comment Policy:


We love to hear from you! While most comments are welcome, all comments are moderated before posting. We will not accept comments that:

  • Attack or harass
  • Are solely promotional in nature
  • Use language that is inappropriate for young children.

 

National Book Award: Who do you think will win?

The National Book Foundation named finalists for the 2017 National Book Award in four categories: fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and young people’s literature. The awards will be announced November 15th, but in the meantime you can find the titles for young people’s literature in the children’s or teen sections at the Shaker Library.

 

What Girls are Made Of

by Elana K. Arnold

Other Books by the Author:

Far from the Tree

by Robin Benway

Other Books by the Author:

I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter

by Erika L. Sánchez

Also by the Author:

Clayton Byrd Goes Underground

by Rita Williams-Garcia

Other Books by the Author:

American Street

by Ibi Zoboi

 


ReadPlayCreate Comment Policy:

We love to hear from you! While most comments are welcome, all comments are moderated before posting. We will not accept comments that:

  • Attack or harass
  • Are solely promotional in nature
  • Use language that is inappropriate for young children.

 

Just the Facts, Please

Hot off the presses: a bumper crop of new nonfiction!

Animals

 

Biographies

 

Cookbooks & Food
   

 

Space

 

Sports
 
   
   
   

 


ReadPlayCreate Comment Policy:

We love to hear from you! While most comments are welcome, all comments are moderated before posting. We will not accept comments that:

  • Attack or harass
  • Are solely promotional in nature
  • Use language that is inappropriate for young children.