ReadPlayCreate

Native American Heritage Month

November is Native American Heritage Month, also known as American Indian and Alaska Native Heritage Month.

For thousands of years before the United States ever existed, this land has been home to the Indigenous peoples of North America.  Currently, there are over 500 federally-recognized tribal nations.  It is always a great time to learn about these many people, their widely diverse cultures and traditions, and the unique challenges they face today.

Here at the Shaker Heights Public Library, we encourage you to learn more by exploring works by Native authors and illustrators.  Here is a selection:

 

Books for Teens
   

 

Books for Children and Tweens
   
   
   
   
   

 

 

Here a few websites for further research:

National Native American Heritage Month

Native American Month @ National Congress of American Indians

Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian

 

 

ReadPlayCreate Comment Policy:


We love to hear from you! While most comments are welcome, all comments are moderated before posting. We will not accept comments that:

  • Attack or harass
  • Are solely promotional in nature
  • Use language that is inappropriate for young children.

 

A New Look for the Magic Tree House Adventures by Mary Pope Osborne

Fans of Jack and Annie and their amazing adventures with Morgan le Fay, Time Librarian, and her magic tree house full of books may be interested to know that the series is celebrating its 25th Anniversary with new covers and a new numbering system.  The three distinct series will each be numbered separately.

The Magic Tree House Series, for readers who are just starting to read chapter books, will still be numbered 1-29.

The Merlin Mission Series books are more challenging, complicated adventures for the experienced Magic Tree House reader at about a third grade level and will be re-numbered 1-27.

Original Cover Design for the Merlin Missions

New Cover Design for the Merlin Missions

 

The Fact Tracker research guides are non-fiction companions to some of the adventures and are not numbered.

Shaker Library carries the print books, audiobook CD’s, and pre-loaded audiobooks from Playaway in our catalog.  Downloadable audiobooks and eBooks are available through our eLibrary.

 

ReadPlayCreate Comment Policy:


We love to hear from you! While most comments are welcome, all comments are moderated before posting. We will not accept comments that:

  • Attack or harass
  • Are solely promotional in nature
  • Use language that is inappropriate for young children.

 

 

Fallingwater – New Book Spotlight

 Fallingwater: the Building of Frank Lloyd Wright’s Masterpiece by Marc Harshman & Anna Egan Smucker; illustrated by LeUyen Pham. Roaring Book Press, New York, New York, 2017. 

This non-fiction picture book tells the story of famed architect, Frank Lloyd Wright, and the creation of his best-known design; Fallingwater, a distinctive house that extends over a waterfall in Western Pennsylvania. Pham’s watercolor, ink, and gouache illustrations capture the movement of the water, the details of the architectural drawings, and the expressions of people as they design and construct the house. The narrative follows the process from the owner’s initial request to the finished house. The text is simple enough to keep young children engaged, while an author’s note, artist’s note, and bibliography provide further information. A fine example of presenting STEAM concepts to young  children, this book is perfect for preschool through elementary school.

 

ReadPlayCreate Comment Policy:


We love to hear from you! While most comments are welcome, all comments are moderated before posting. We will not accept comments that:

  • Attack or harass
  • Are solely promotional in nature
  • Use language that is inappropriate for young children.

 

Spooktacular Stories for Halloween

Are you ready for some chills and frights? Here is just a small selection of Halloween titles available from your Shaker Library.

 

Non-Fiction
 Picture Books
Chapter Books
Media
   

ReadPlayCreate Comment Policy:


We love to hear from you! While most comments are welcome, all comments are moderated before posting. We will not accept comments that:

  • Attack or harass
  • Are solely promotional in nature
  • Use language that is inappropriate for young children.

 

 

Nature Display

 

Examine the rings in a tree trunk section, touch a rock, or take a look at our beaver stick and wonder at the tooth power involved.

The current display in the Children’s Room at Main Library celebrates nature. Autumn is the perfect time of year to get outside and learn about trees. Stop in and check out a book or explore one of the helpful databases from The Ohio Web Library. What Tree Is It?  helps you identify trees, step by step, by leaf, fruit, or name. What’s That Snake? and What’s the Point? are also offered.

Ohio Web Library is freely available to all Ohio residents. You can find a link to the site on Shaker Library’s web site under Research.

In 2017 Ranger Rick magazine, published by the National Wildlife Federation,  celebrated 50 years of inspiring children and families to care about wildlife and the outdoors.

The library carries the print magazine or you can view issues online through Flipster, part of Shaker’s eLibrary.

In the words of e.e. cummings, the world is “mud-luscious” and “puddle-wonderful!”

Explore, learn, enjoy.

ReadPlayCreate Comment Policy:


We love to hear from you! While most comments are welcome, all comments are moderated before posting. We will not accept comments that:

  • Attack or harass
  • Are solely promotional in nature
  • Use language that is inappropriate for young children.

 

National Book Award: Who do you think will win?

The National Book Foundation named finalists for the 2017 National Book Award in four categories: fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and young people’s literature. The awards will be announced November 15th, but in the meantime you can find the titles for young people’s literature in the children’s or teen sections at the Shaker Library.

 

What Girls are Made Of

by Elana K. Arnold

Other Books by the Author:

Far from the Tree

by Robin Benway

Other Books by the Author:

I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter

by Erika L. Sánchez

Also by the Author:

Clayton Byrd Goes Underground

by Rita Williams-Garcia

Other Books by the Author:

American Street

by Ibi Zoboi

 


ReadPlayCreate Comment Policy:

We love to hear from you! While most comments are welcome, all comments are moderated before posting. We will not accept comments that:

  • Attack or harass
  • Are solely promotional in nature
  • Use language that is inappropriate for young children.

 

Just the Facts, Please

Hot off the presses: a bumper crop of new nonfiction!

Animals

 

Biographies

 

Cookbooks & Food
   

 

Space

 

Sports
 
   
   
   

 


ReadPlayCreate Comment Policy:

We love to hear from you! While most comments are welcome, all comments are moderated before posting. We will not accept comments that:

  • Attack or harass
  • Are solely promotional in nature
  • Use language that is inappropriate for young children.

 

Books to Share for Autumn

Autumn has arrived! Here are some fall-tastic books to share with little ones over the next few months:

 PICTURE BOOKS
 NON-FICTION

ReadPlayCreate Comment Policy:

We love to hear from you! While most comments are welcome, all comments are moderated before posting. We will not accept comments that:

  • Attack or harass
  • Are solely promotional in nature
  • Use language that is inappropriate for young children.

 

Building Community with Legos

To an outsider, the scene may look chaotic. Kids gathering around bins of colorful Legos, choosing the pieces they need and excitedly adding to their creations. They move from one table to the next, searching for the perfect piece. Several children play with the Lego boat, discussing which pieces to add and where to fill their creative vision. Two girls work together to build a large house, attaching base plates to make an even larger one. Around the room, participants are discussing, sharing resources, lending ideas, and getting to know one another.

When I host the Lego free play program at the library, I am often amazed to see kids who may have met one another just a few minutes prior sharing ideas and problem solving issues that arise over the construction of a project. These cooperative skills will serve kids beyond the program room at the library, in school, at home, and eventually in their careers. Similarly, parents sit down and strike up a conversation as their kids play, furthering our community building.

There is a universal appeal to Legos, and one of my favorite things about them as a toy is that there is an unlimited play value. Legos encourage kids to use their imaginations, to improvise, to share, and to cooperate. They are also excellent for practicing fine motor skills. While amassing a large collection of Legos may be cost-prohibitive for some families, the library’s collection is available to all participants and is one example of the value public libraries provide to their communities.


ReadPlayCreate Comment Policy:

We love to hear from you! While most comments are welcome, all comments are moderated before posting. We will not accept comments that:

  • Attack or harass
  • Are solely promotional in nature
  • Use language that is inappropriate for young children.

 

 

Autumn Crafts

The kids are back to school, the days are getting shorter, and the temperatures cooler. It won’t be long before lawns are covered in carpets of colorful leaves. Before you rake them all to the curb, gather a few and try your hand at some autumn crafting:

 

 

 

 


ReadPlayCreate Comment Policy:

We love to hear from you! While most comments are welcome, all comments are moderated before posting. We will not accept comments that:

  • Attack or harass
  • Are solely promotional in nature
  • Use language that is inappropriate for young children.