#### SHAKER HEIGHTS PUBLIC LIBRARY

Board of Trustees Organizational Meeting January 9, 2012

### Attendance

Members Present: Ms. Allen, Mr. Anderson, Mr. McGovern, Mr. Miller, Ms. Shatten,

Dr. Whyte

Members Absent: Dr. Hutt

Staff Present: Mr. Dickinson, Ms. Miller, Mr. Piskac, Ms. Switzer

Others: Evelyn Krent, League of Women Voters Representative

Ms. Shatten called the organizational meeting of the Shaker Heights Public Library Board of Trustees to order at 6:34 p.m. in the Main Library Boardroom. Ms. Shatten commented that Dr. Hutt is running late.

# Election of Officers

## Report of the Nominating Committee

Ms. Allen recommended the following slate of officers for 2012:

Ms. Shatten – President

Mr. Anderson - Vice President

Mr. Miller - Secretary

Ms. Shatten asked for a motion from Board members not being nominated.

2012-01 Dr. Whyte moved and Mr. McGovern seconded the motion to approve the

recommendation of the Nominating Committee to appoint the above officers to

serve during 2012.

Roll Call: Ayes: Ms. Allen, Mr. Anderson, Mr. McGovern, Mr. Miller, Ms. Shatten, Dr. Whyte

Nays: None. Motion carried.

### Other Business

2012-02 Mr. Miller moved and Mr. Anderson seconded the motion to appoint David Piskac

as Business Manager/Fiscal Officer and Luren Dickinson as Deputy Fiscal Officer

for 2012 and set their bond at \$100,000 each.

Roll Call: Ayes: Ms. Allen, Mr. Anderson, Mr. McGovern, Mr. Miller, Ms. Shatten, Dr. Whyte

Nays: None. Motion carried.

<u>20</u>		or designated members of the s	erson seconded the motion to authorize the Director taff to dispose of materials donated to or owned by e no longer needed for Library operation in 2012.
Re	Roll Call:	Ayes: Ms. Allen, Mr. Anderson, Mr. McGovern, Mr. Miller, Ms. Shatten, Dr. Whyte	
		Nays: None. Motion carried.	
<u>20</u>		or designated members of the s	erson seconded the motion to authorize the Director staff to accept donations of materials to the Library to be accepted by separate resolution of the Board
Re	Roll Call: Ayes: Ms. Allen, Mr. Anderson, Mr. McGovern, Mr. Miller, Ms. Shatten, Dr.		Mr. McGovern, Mr. Miller, Ms. Shatten, Dr. Whyte
		Nays: None. Motion carried.	
<u>20</u>		Ms. Shatten moved and Mr. Miller seconded the motion to adjourn the organizational meeting at 6:41 p.m.  Ayes: Ms. Allen, Mr. Anderson, Mr. McGovern, Mr. Miller, Ms. Shatten, Dr. Whyte Nays: None. Motion carried.	
Re	oll Call:		
			Jeanne Shatten, President
			David D. Piskac, Fiscal Officer
			Kurt Miller, Secretary